lisamariadahlin

Alla inlägg den 4 november 2012

Av Lisa Dahlin - 4 november 2012 12:00

I have been reading 'Welcome Brooklet Colombia' wich is like a guide that they gave us in Sweden about Colombia before arriving. Last week the volunteers here in Popayán reminded us that the things being presented in this book are very important and therefore we had to read it all over again. I found some interesting information that I really wanted to share with you guys since it describes my way of living to 100 %. So here we go!


'Colombia can provide a more interesting and fulfulling AFS experience than many other countries since it is not inundated with foreigners, volunteers or backpackers. Thanks to this there is a curiosity for new cultures.' This is definitely true, it seems like the people here have never seen somebody that does not have brown eyes, dark skin or black hair. This my friends leads us to the next point.


'You will probably look different from most Colombians - nevertheless, stay relaxed and calm, also in situations which might be new for you. As a foreigner you will stand out and people will stare at you. This will usually be little more than many comments about how beautiful your eyes are (if they are not brown). This rarely causes any problems if you are relaxed about it. If you have blond hair you will be called 'mono', and 'gringo' is a term widely used here.' I sincerely think that 'mona' is my new name... I suddenly became Mona-Lisa haha. And that you-have-beautiful-eyes-part, I do not even want to talk about it... Wow. It is impressive that they keep on telling me that every day, do they not ever get tired? They are just eyes, come on.


'You will have to forget all European notions of time. If you are arranging to meet someone and he/she says 2 pm, this could mean anything from 2.15 to 3.00 It is just the way of living in this country.' OH YES, I am going crazy because of this. Do these people not have anyting else to do? Do they not plan their days? I do.


Well, I do not know if you found this worth reading but I at least wanted to share it with you. Life here is a biiit different... It is everything I ever wanted, everything I ever searched for. This is the life that I need.

Presentation


Här kommer du kunna följa mig under mitt år som utbytesstudent i Colombia, Sydamerika. Läs mer än gärna och passa på att få ta del och uppleva det lite du också!

Fråga mig

1 besvarad fråga

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
     
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<<< November 2012 >>>

Tidigare år

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards